Reload this Page >

RIP - Allen Bellman Timely Artist

Comic Book Talk The Place to talk about Comics

Old 03-19-20, 04:49 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 241 Likes on 177 Posts

A few years back, I bought a Captain America shield with multiple signatures on it. Some familiar from the comic industry such as Stan Lee, Steranko, Zeck and others who wrote, drew or were part of Captain America's comic history. One large signature that was also on the shield belonged to a gentleman named Allen Bellman. I've been collecting comics for many years and since I grew up in San Diego, loved to attend conventions in San Diego or the Seattle area where I now live but I couldn't recall hearing the name, Allen Bellman. Well, I turned to the Internet and much to my surprise, I learned that Allen Bellman was one of, if not the last living artist from the Timely Comic (pre-Marvel) days. I went to his website and put in an order for a signed copy of his autobiography and a print of his artwork. Shortly after that, I received an email directly from Allen to confirm my order and thank me. Wait, what? The artist sending a personal email after I ordered something. Well I thought to myself, I'll have to do some more here. I then began a correspondence with him about two commissions I wanted him to do. I am a lifelong Submariner fan and commissioned one of just "Subby" as Allen called him and a trio of the "Original Three" Captain America, The Human Torch and Submariner in full fighting Axis pose. This was all last year and Allen even asked for my phone number. We talked a few times about the commission and I couldn't get over the personal touch that he brought. He really wanted to get things right. After reading his autobiography, I was amazed at his story of leaving the comic industry and coming back to the spotlight the past few years with the MCU movies gaining in popularity. He was invited to the Captain America premier, started to do the comic convention circuit and even through out a fir