Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Book Talk
Reload this Page >

Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Old 09-17-10, 02:24 AM
  #1  
DVD Talk Special Edition
Thread Starter
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,033
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Has anyone read Daemon and Freedom(tm) by Daniel Suarez? I really liked these two books (one book, split into two parts) and would like some recommendations on some technothrillers along the same line.
Old 09-17-10, 11:12 AM
  #2  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Originally Posted by Gambit
Has anyone read Daemon and Freedom(tm) by Daniel Suarez? I really liked these two books (one book, split into two parts) and would like some recommendations on some technothrillers along the same line.
got Daemon on my Kindle but havent read it yet..didnt even know there was a sequel out for it
Old 09-17-10, 03:29 PM
  #3  
DVD Talk Special Edition
Thread Starter
 
Gambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,033
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Originally Posted by Deke Rivers
got Daemon on my Kindle but havent read it yet..didnt even know there was a sequel out for it
It was originally written as one book, but it was too long so he split it up and reworked it to make it into two.
Old 09-18-10, 07:42 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

dont know why these guys do that other than to make more money..
Old 09-18-10, 09:39 AM
  #5  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Sean O'Hara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vichy America
Posts: 13,533
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Originally Posted by Deke Rivers
dont know why these guys do that other than to make more money..
Bookstores don't like fat books that take up twice the shelf space as a 400 page novel yet cost the same. They used to tolerate it, but a few years ago they cracked down and told publishers that they'll only stock doorstop novels from authors with a proven track record.
Old 11-29-11, 06:22 PM
  #6  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: DVDTalk's Surgeon General
Posts: 5,584
Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

Finally got around to reading these two books. Thought they were good. But I have the same question as the OP. Anyone read these and find something similar?
Old 11-30-11, 06:17 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 734
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Books like Daemon and Freedom(tm)?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Techno-thriller has tons of suggestions.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.