Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

Philip K. Dick official site [and PKD related discussion / questions]

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-03, 01:00 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Philip K. Dick official site now online

http://www.philipkdick.com

A fascinating site. I found his notes and letters very touching.

I am just beginning to get familiar with his large canon of work. Can you recommend a good book to begin with?
Old 12-03-03, 01:57 PM
Mod Emeritus

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It's deja vu all over again!

[It's deja vu all over again!] .... a great site and one which I always intend to revisit more often!

Your question is a difficult one because PKD wrote (perhaps) four or five different kinds of fiction, to my way of thinking, although his obsessions/themes permeated nearly all of his work....

First there is the out-and-out non-SF material. Confessions of a Crap Artist was published (by an enthusuiast) during his lifetime although all the rest was posthumous. I believe it had been rejected and sat in a drawer for 30 years before someone took the "risk"! I'd take a look at that one and try out the rest of that block if you like it. From later on The Transmigration of Timothy Archer is also less sf-nal than his other material....

Some of his stuff, particularly in the early days is perhaps fairly described as "intelligent pulp". I think much of it is great. It has been a long time since I read it so I don't really know what to recommend.... to dip your toes in further, there are the collected short stories. These have all been gathered together in to five volumes.

Despite the crackpot reputation, there is a cerebral aspect to much of his work. Shifting realities came to the fore as time went on: a paranoia perhaps caused by ingesting too many amphetamines when PKD was writing against the clock! You could try the deservedly award-winning The Man in the High Castle.