Search
Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

Clive Cussler news & discussion thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-01, 08:45 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clive Cussler news & discussion thread

If so, what books of his are your favorite? I am new to his stuff and I want to start with the very first Dirk Pitt book that was written by Cussler, "Pacific Vortex".
Old 10-15-01, 12:23 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Anyone?
Old 10-15-01, 12:41 PM

I've read all of his Dirk Pitt novels, but don't really have a favorite--they're all really good, IMO. Excellent for a trip to the beach or a rainy afternoon.

Very consistent story quality level, each starting with some event in history, which is revisited in present day. Some of these events are improbable (I won't give any of them away), but make for good reading. Great characters, too.

Sometimes the later books reference earlier works. Your plan to start at the beginning is a good one.
Old 10-18-01, 12:54 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Favorites for me are Cyclops, Dragon and Night Probe. If you ever listen to the books on tape version, you kind of hear how some of the dialog is cheesy when read aloud. Still, they're really fun reads.

Here's an interview with Cussler that I was just reading last week. http://www.bookreporter.com/authors/...sler-clive.asp It makes mention of how they are pursuing another movie. (Raise the Titanic came out like 20 years ago and Cussler was dissappointed with it)
Old 10-19-01, 06:37 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
re: Clive Cussler news & discussion thread

Originally posted by Wormwood
If so, what books of his are your favorite? I am new to his stuff and I want to start with the very first Dirk Pitt book that was written by Cussler, "Pacific Vortex".
I think I read that the Mediterranean caper was actually the first Dirk Pitt novel written but Cussler didn't think it was very good so he shelved it. Obviously, it got published later.