Yet another LOTR question... [merged]

Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

Yet another LOTR question... [merged]

Old 06-27-01, 11:06 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
When Sam and Frodo meet Gollum in book IV, is
Spoiler:
Smeagol gollums "real name" as in before he found the Ring?
Old 06-27-01, 12:36 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Yep. That was explained to Frodo by Gandalf in FOTR when he comes to verify that this ring was The Ring. Gandalf gives the history of the ring and how it came into Smeagol's ownership.
Old 06-27-01, 12:43 PM
DVD Talk Legend

OK thanks, it's my first time through these books, I know I know...what was I waiting for...and I just wanted to be sure without hunting back through FOTR...but I guess I should look back...

PLus I always seem to put this book down for a couple days and read a different book...
Old 08-08-01, 12:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

LOTR question: Re the appendix.

I am nearly finished the book...I'm at the
Spoiler:
return to the shire...the uprising part
and I am wondering if it is worth it to read through the appendixes{appendi?} or is it for the hardcore people? Let me know your thoughts.
Old 08-08-01, 08:44 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
At the very least, read Appendix A. It tells you the events that occured before LOTR (basically what happened in The Silmarillion) which sheds a whole new light on some things; but most importantly, it tells you what happened to the remaining characters after the events of LOTR. The fate of Aragorn & Arwen is terribly sad.
The other appendices are things like a pronunciation guide and notes on the languages of Middle-earth (LOTR is really about language and nothing more), family trees, the Shire calendar, things like that; but you may find them interesting.
Old 08-08-01, 11:50 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Iright, I just finished the book tonite...I'll read Appendix A...I checked out some of the pronunciations and stuff already...

thanks.