Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Audio system advice?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-01, 07:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I already have a TV, VCR and DVD player, but I am thinking of adding on an audio end to my home theater setup. Unfortunately, I have zero audio hardware knowledge and was hoping to receive advice from forum members.

It is my understanding that I will need a receiver, speakers and a subwoofer. My constraints are as follows:

1) I have just moved after graduating college and am still buying furniture for my apartment. Money is definitely an issue. I'm not pegging myself to a specific budget, but "value" is the key word.

2) I do not listen to music at all. My only concern for this system is that it enhances my DVD experience.

3) I live in an apartment in Brooklyn, my living room is 11 X 17 and there is a family living on the other side of the wall. My interest in an audio system comes from a desire for quality, not volume. I'd prefer a smaller system that was a bit quieter to a big system that could shake the walls, assuming the quality and price were the same.

If anyone can offer advice on the matter, it would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-10-01, 07:06 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

As far as bang for the buck, I would have to recommend the Energy Take 5 system and the Onkyo 575X receiver. There are other receivers that are comparable, but I think that the Take 5 can't be beat. This is just my opinion though...for what it's worth.
Old 01-10-01, 09:33 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition