Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

I need advice, couldn't think of a different title..

Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-17, 07:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been collecting blue-rays, and dvds for a few years and I wanted too let some go. I've never sold anything on ebay,Amazon etc.. and I wanted too know if anyone has any experience selling? And if so could they pass some basic 101. I'll give you a free DVD 😊
Old 11-28-17, 07:54 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 379 Likes on 236 Posts
Re: I need advice, couldn't think of a different title..

Only a little bit of experience here.

If you look around the forum here, you'll probably see folks who would discourage selling online because it's just not worth the time/effort to list, ship, etc.

When you sell them to a place like Half Price Books, you receive such a small amount on the dollar.

I've had some success with a yard sale. My wife has one nearly every spring. I put 100 DVDs on a table for $1-2 and unloaded nearly half of them. I'll probably go that route again.

You could also donate them to your library for the tax write-off as well if you're simply wanting to clear out some space.
Old 11-28-17, 08:45 PM
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd

Received 680 Likes on 456 Posts

Unless you're talking boutique labels like Criterion or Arrow, most discs will fetch you a couple bucks each if you're lucky. Rather than spend time and fees and postage on ebay sales for such low returns, giving them away may be best.
Old 11-28-17, 10:32 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer & TOAT Winner

Received 333 Likes on 252 Posts

Also check the current Ebay listings to see what titles are selling for. A few out of print titles go for a decent amount but more common ones might bring in just a few cents. Make sure that you at least don't lose money on the shipping costs!
Old 12-01-17, 05:16 PM
DVD Talk Legend