Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Comic Book Talk
Reload this Page >

Help/Advice needed on a HC & TPB I purchased.

Community
Search
Comic Book Talk The Place to talk about Comics

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-16, 09:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thanks to anyone who can offer perspective or advice on 2 separate situations.

First I ordered the GI Joe: The Complete Collection Volume 2 hardcover https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1613776195/ New from an Amazon mp seller.

This is my first time ordering one of these sets, and was surprised that there was "just" the book, with no slipcover, shrinkwrap, etc. Is that correct? For how expensive it is ($50 msrp and I paid $46 shipped) then I'd have thought there'd be something to protect it. The corners were slightly dinged, but not enough to quibble over. The cover did open easily, not as if the spine were cracked, but not with the same tightness/resistance that many New HC's have. Is that normal?

Maybe it's fine and I'm overthinking things, but I hate buying even lightly Used stuff as New and I'd really appreciate feedback/reassurance from someone who was familiar with this series. Thanks.

My second question concerns the oop (and quickly rising in price) Huntress Dark Knight Daughter TPB. This is a $20 msrp book that I ordered from a mp seller for $31 shipped. He listed it as "New - Pristine". He shipped it in a soft manila bubble envelope. The book was not in any plastic or had anything else to protect it (like cardboard).

There was a strong stress mark on the spine, two corners had minor dings, the third had hit something hard and so crumpled and bent in 3 lines (though not as badly as most times I've seen that). There are around a dozen shelf wear spots and the paper around the edges of all the pages has yellowed/browned.