Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

Have you ever been "addicted" to a video game?

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-13, 01:16 PM
wlj
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have been gaming for 3 decades and I absolutely love it. It has always been my #1 hobby all of my life. As the years go by, I have less and less time to play them due to family and job responsibilities. There has been a change in gaming habits since 2011. I used to buy tons of new games. I would finish one, sell it, and get more. However, now, I game pretty much the same amount of time, I just play fewer games. Over the past couple of years, my gaming has consisted of three games -- Dark Souls, Diablo 3, and Marvel Heroes. I have played a handful of other games, but I would say 90% of my playtime has been with those 3 games and 10% other games.

Have I been addicted to any or all of those 3 games? Quite possibly. I haven't developed an extremely unhealthy addiction like some WoW addicts out there. I haven't destroyed my life. Luckily i have a wonderful family that keeps me grounded. I do fear that if I was single that I would be in danger of a toxic addiction.

Have you ever been addicted to a game?
Old 10-23-13, 01:50 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Have you ever been "addicted" to a video game?

Tetris, Madden 97, Final Fantasys 3 and 7, and Arkham City. All of those I had to ween myself off of, and when applicable kept playing long after I beat them.
Old 10-23-13, 01:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Call of Duty since 4...up until this last Spring.
Bomberman Live
Pokemon Blue
Monster Rancher 2
Old 10-23-13, 02:07 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 1,015 Likes on 839 Posts

Civilization for Windows--just couldn't stop playing.
Old 10-23-13, 02:13 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts