Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

DVD Talk Review: 'Billy Owens and the Secret of the Rune'

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-10, 01:39 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 608 Likes on 447 Posts

I've never posted about a review here before, but I just couldn't resist when I read Kurt Dahlke's undoubtedly spot-on review of Mark McNabb's latest exercise in regional dimwittery.

At one point, Mr. Dahlke writes:

Someone needs to have enough heart to tell McNabb and crew to move on.
I've been hoping for this to happen for over 20 years!

Though I now live in Toronto, rather thankfully, I'm a native of the region of Ontario, Canada wherein McNabb has been shooting his "movies" for well over two decades,. He hasn't made a good one yet. Thus I suspect if someone told him to move on, it would simply drive him to make BUCK OWENS & THE MAGICAL GRAIN SILO TIME MACHINE out of sheer spite.

McNabb's stomping ground is a small town called Petrolia (approx. pop. 5000), so-named for it's long-ago status as a major Canadian oil-producing center. Lovely little place, actually, but also the kind of place where someone like McNabb can be hailed a hometown hero, while the entire outside world laughs off yet another of his well-intentioned but dreadfully dough-headed and budget-challenged pictures. The weekly town newspaper used to blow him whenever he cranked out another one of his epics—don't know if they still do—and his response every single time was that a truly resourceful filmmaker didn't need to live in Toronto or Hollywood to make good movies, and that little ol' Petrolia could enjoy a slice of Hollywood right in their own backyard thanks to the endless imagination of Mark McNabb. Stop it, I'm serious.