Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

What kind of gamer have I become?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-09, 08:03 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
What kind of gamer have I become?

I've had just about every major video game system, starting at the Atari 2600 at age 5. I kept playing through the "great video game crash", through high school and college, and through marriages and divorces.

As a kid I could play shitty NES games like Athena and City Connection for weeks, trying to master them. I beat every NES Mega Man. I'd put 80 hours into Phantasy Stars and Final Fantasys...

And now all I want to play are music and sports games. 20 minutes of Rock Band or Madden, and then I jump back out and go about my day.

I started playing Resident Evil Zero recently, on the easiest setting, and 20 minutes in I'm already checking the web to figure out what to do. When I was younger I thrived on the problem solving. Today I solve problems at work every day. I don't want to do it in video games too.

I played some Modern Warfare 2 today but actually found myself a little disturbed by the bloodshed. I can still kill aliens and zombies with furious anger... but starting with World at War last year and with MW2 this year I really found myself a little put off by the human on human violence.

I know most of you are still hardcore, but has anyone else here found their love of games remain constant yet your patience for games wear thin?
Old 11-14-09, 08:30 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re: What kind of gamer have I become?

I have less patience in games now as well but I think the reason is that with the internet you can find the answer in seconds whereas back in the 80's and most of the 90's you just had to suck it up and keep trying and trying.
Old 11-14-09, 11:24 PM
DVD Talk Hero