Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

NEED HELP SETTING UP SYSTEM

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

NEED HELP SETTING UP SYSTEM

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-00, 06:42 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: under the stars with a great view of the mountains and a the lovely aroma of cow shit.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
this is my first time setting up a system. Also this is the way they are connected right now. OK now i can get a picture from my dvd player but i get no sound.

DVD PLAYER SET UP
The s-video cable runs directly from the dvd player to the tv. the digital audio cable (for sound) runs from dvd to reciever.

CABLE BOX SET UP AND VCR

Coaxel cable from the wall to the input of the box. then the out runs to the vcr input. then the vcr output runs from vcr to the tv.

SPEAKER SET UP
i am only running 3 speakers. the center and right and left. they are plugged in pos and negative just like they should be.

OK WHAT AM I DOING WRONG ANY HELP WOULD BE GREAT
THANKS IN ADVANCE.

------------------
MY DVD'S I like em a lot (@) hot safe sex click here

GO LAKERS

Old 05-22-00, 10:43 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: under the stars with a great view of the mountains and a the lovely aroma of cow shit.
now the sound is only coming out the center speaker is this normal for regular tv veiwing.

also the connection for the sub looks like it is only 1 plug. on my sub their are 12 connections for wires, and 2 for rca plugs. how am i going to plug in the sub.

------------------

GO LAKERS

[This message has been edited by damn_skippy (edited May 22, 2000).]
Old 05-22-00, 11:14 AM
Suspended

In your description of how you set up your DVD, you say that you have connected a digital audio cable? By this do you meen a coax or fiber cable? Anyhow if this is what you mean, do you not also have to connect the right and left outs from the DVD player to the receiver also?