Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Need help to set up low cost DVD 5.1Home Theater

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Need help to set up low cost DVD 5.1Home Theater

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-00, 10:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hi, I am very new to DVD & Home Theater system. Do anyone have suggestion in some good and low price DVD player and Dolby Digital Home Theater system?
And also what kind of components are needed?
Thanks for any information!
Old 04-29-00, 07:24 AM

one word:
audioreview.com
SONY STR-DB930 + Energy Take-5 speakers + Pioneer DV-525 = super student bargain
Old 04-29-00, 01:20 PM
AW

the least expensive alternative probably is the Toshiba 6109C DD Receiver/DVD combo (available currently at Mobshop). A similar unit is made by Go Video. You lose some flexibility going with a combination unit, but you save some money. You should be able to find a sub/sat speaker system in the $800 - $1,000 range for 5 mains, a center and a subwoofer (I have Energy Take 5's, which I highly recommend, but virtually every speaker company has similar systems now -- I also would look at systems by Boston, Definative Technology, KEF, etc.)
Old 04-29-00, 02:14 PM
Cool New Member

The Toshiba SD-6109C is a solid, inexpensive option. The connectivity is limited compared to most HT theater receivers, but for many people it's enough for a TV and a VCR. I bought one from www.vanns.com to give to someone and have been very impressed with their service in the few times I've dealt with them. Right now they offer the 6109 for $400, shipping included, if MobShop makes you as nervous as it does me.
Old 04-29-00, 05:36 PM

Thanks you all! I just order the SD6109C for $282 in Mobshop, it takes 2 weeks for Mobshop to ship but I am in budget anyway.