Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Onkyo 606 Question - Newbie here

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-08, 05:43 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 211 Likes on 178 Posts

Ok, I'm a newbie when it comes to the Onkyo receiver (my previous receiver is a Kenwood that is 10 years old). Anyway, I bought the Onkyo 606 today and was wondering how having one HDMI output works.

Currently, I have my LG BH200 and my Comcast HD DVR connected via HDMI to my Toshiba LCD television and using optical cables to my Kenwood receiver for each. How does this work with the Onkyo receiver with one HDMI output? Meaning, will I have to turn off my cable box if I want to watch a movie? Also, I'm assuming I will have to connect other cables from each to get audio, correct? See, I don't want to use my receiver to watch a TV program and sometimes if I'm watching a DVD, I just want to use my TV speakers...

This may be a dumb question, but this is kind of new territory for me.

Those with the 606 and multiple connections, what do you do?

Last edited by TheMovieman; 07-08-08 at 06:16 PM.
Old 07-08-08, 09:16 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You're going to need the receiver on if you want video or audio. Otherwise you're going to need to get creative with the wiring.

You don't need to turn anything off. The Onkyo has plenty of HDMI inputs, so you'd hit DVD for DVDs and CBL/SAT for watching TV...

Why would you want to just use the TV speakers? I never quite get that when I hear a question like this. Unless you want to save power or something.
Old 07-08-08, 09:48 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally Posted by TheMovieman
Currently, I have my LG BH200 and my Comcast HD DVR connected via HDMI to my Toshiba LCD television and using optical cables to my Kenwood receiver for each. How does this work with the Onkyo receiver with one HDMI output?