Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

World Series of Poker 2008-Battle for the Bracelets

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-07, 04:19 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
World Series of Poker 2008-Battle for the Bracelets

Anyone pick this up? I got it for my PS2 since im not in the next gen world yet and i really like it so far.Im by no means a poker expert so maybe im not the best judge of the game but for me its pretty fun.I know of a few of the players from seeing them on TV and Phil Hellmuth is the featured player in it.I wish they had a little more banter from him and the other players cuz the speech is very repetitive.Maybe its better on the next gen versions? Ive never had a poker game so i dont have anything to compare it with but it does a good job and recreating the TV style of the Texas Hold Em tourneys ive seen.It also has a career mode that im just starting out on now.

IGN gave it a 7.9 for PS2,PS3 and Xbox 360.It also is being released later this year on PSP,DS and PC.

On a related note when i first got the game the other day i had a very hard time reading the text and the cards so i picked up one of those Sony AV component cables and that made a big difference and also my other PS2 games look better now too.Im new to PS2 so this was exciting for me

Last edited by astrochimp; 10-16-07 at 05:33 PM.
Old 10-16-07, 05:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I bought this game when it was released. I'm relatively new to the game of poker, but I took to the WSOP games quickly. Last year's game was great, in terms of presentation and options... and this year's version eclipses last year's on many fronts. There are more offline gameplay options, new players (Hellmuth's addition is a plus), and an even better presentation style.