Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Ebay/Paypal forcing me to upgrade to business account, options?

Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Old 10-12-06, 04:08 PM
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd

Received 670 Likes on 448 Posts

First off, I did a search, and realize that while this specific question hasn't been asked recently, it has probably been discussed several times in the past. But I'm new to selling on ebay, so please forgive me.

I rarely sell on ebay, maybe once a year on average. But I have sold 6 or so things in the last month or two, subtly asking for no credit cards in the description. I did receive a couple of credit card payments, declined them, and had the buyer switch to a checking account paypal payment.

But today, I received another paypal credit card payment, and paypal does not give me the option to deny it. The deny box is grayed out, and a popover tells me that all ebay sellers are obligated to accept all paypal payments.

I understand that the monopoly wants to get as many fees as possible, but I want to avoid having to "upgrade" to a business account if possible.

Is there any way around this?

I guess I could set up a separate paypal account just for receiving credit card payments, which will hopefully be extremely rarely.

I imagine that asking buyers to pay extra is a no-no and against ebay policy.

Any other thoughts or options? I refuse to deal with personal checks (bad experiences in the past). And aren't there problems with money orders too?

Last edited by Trevor; 10-12-06 at 04:11 PM.
Old 10-12-06, 04:13 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts
You definitely cannot ask buyers to cover the fees. But according to the TOS, to sell on eBay and accept PP, you do need to accept ALL forms of payment, including CC funded ones. They look to be begining to substantially enforce the rule.
Old 10-12-06, 04:23 PM