Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

DVD "regulations" - legal questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-06, 08:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DVD "regulations" - legal questions

Just a cliche, but I want to know the real thing. We all know the regulation in the beginning of DVD (FBI warning, etc. et.) says that this DVD/Video is for home viewing only. Any exhibition on public places with or without profit purposes (or whatever you say it) without proper license ins forbidden, bla bla bla. Home doesn't include public schools, hospitals, hotels, airplane, offshore oil rig, etc. etc.

1. I wonder why those places (schools, hospitals, etc.) are not included as "home viewing"? What's the reason behind this regulations?

In that case, can anyone explain the legal view of these matters:

1. Suppose I'm a teacher, trying to teach certain subject, among my program is to show a certain DVD to my students in class. For instance, I'm a film lecturer, want to show certain techniques of special eeffects, or framing, or some unique techniques used in film, then I use DVD in class. This is forbidden? What should be done to make it legal?

2. Suppose I'm a rich owner of a big company. I own a private executive aircraft - complete with audio-video entertainment equipment. If I provide DVD movies as entertainment in this aircraft, is that illegal too? Say that this aircraft is for corporate use only.

3. Same case as in no. 2, but this time the aircraft is available for charter.

4. Same case, but this time it's a crusing yacht for joy cruise, available for charter. Forbidden too, to play DVD movies as part of entertainment?

5. What about hotels? As we see that most hotels provide these movies service, do they require special license?

Of course, I want to know from legal point of view explanation. If it's in practice, I believe most of you will say "the hell wit it, just go ahead"...
Old 01-20-06, 09:41 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition