Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Panasonic 42 inch plasma

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Panasonic 42 inch plasma

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-06, 06:05 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Panasonic 42 inch plasma

I've been reading great reviews on the Panasonic plasmas. There's this one which runs around $2200.

Then there's this one which is about $1400.

The main difference I can see is the resolution. For $2200, I get 1024x768 with a contrast ratio of 3000:1
Broadcast Format Supported: 480i (SDTV), 480p (EDTV), 576i, 576p, 720p (HDTV)

For $1400, I get 852x480 with a contrast ratio of 4000:1
Broadcast Format Supported:1080i (HDTV), 480i (SDTV), 480p (EDTV), 720p (HDTV)

I'm very new to all this and I'm just wondering if I'd regret buying the cheaper one. Will the difference in resolution be very noticeable? Anyone have either of these?
Old 01-11-06, 06:16 PM
X
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 124 Posts
It depends on whether you're going to watch HDTV or HD-DVD on it. The cheaper screen doesn't support their resolution, it will have to downconvert to match the lower 852x480 resolution.
Old 01-11-06, 06:20 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
The cheaper one is not going to look better than a regular TV.
Old 01-11-06, 06:23 PM
X
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 124 Posts
I think you'd have to sit farther back to watch the cheaper one as well since its pixels will be so large.
Old 01-11-06, 06:27 PM

Well, I'd like something that supports HD, even though I may not be using that right away. The specs on the cheaper one show HDTV stats. When watching HD broadcasts on the cheaper one that's downconverting, will the picture still look good? Or are you saying that it would look just like regular digital cable?

Would a regular DVD and regular cable look better on either one in particular?
Old 01-11-06, 07:53 PM