Search
TV Talk Talk about Shows on TV

Sell me on Farscape

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-05, 12:23 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sell me on Farscape

This will contain spoilers up to the eighteenth episode of season two, "A Clockwork Nebari". I would appreciate it if you would refrain from spoilering anything after this episode.

Farscape seems to be loved second only to Babylon 5 on this forum, and since I love B5 I decided to start watching Farscape a few months ago.

I started with the first season, which I found intriguing and entertaining. The characters were well-written and the plots engaging. I enjoyed the "fish out of water" aspect of Crichton's journey, and could see that the show was trying to create something big. I watched it in about a month.

I've been working my way through the second season for about five months.

For whatever reason, this season hasn't engaged me nearly as much. With at least two episodes, I've turned it off halfway through, not to go back for at least a week. I recently did this with "A Clockwork Nebari" and am seriously debating whether or not to remove the show from my Netflix queue and send the disc back.

It started off well enough, but almost every episode feels like I'm watching the same plot: some mysterious alien shows up on the ship and causes them all to act differently. The only episodes I can remember enjoying were the Crichton-centric ones, because the rest of the cast seems to be getting non-existent character development this season. I also am wary of this whole crazy-Crichton chip-in-the-head thing that's started up.

Should I jump ship, or keep plodding along? Watching the show feels like work now. I really want to like it. If I hadn't liked it from the beginning, I wouldn't think twice about stopping- but I really did enjoy the first season. Thoughts?
Old 12-22-05, 12:25 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 913 Likes on 648 Posts
Originally Posted by TracerBullet