Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Should I go for the HD DVD player?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 12-04-05, 03:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a little new to the HT world. I have had a progressive scan player for some time but was unable to use it due to my 12yo.XBR that only had s-video....no component hook-up. We just purchased a Panasonic TH-42PX5OU HD plasma. The first video was Princess Diaries 2 DVD for my little one. I could SEE the difference when I activated the progressive scan. WOW, what a picture. After witnessing this, my eyes are now open to the what is possible with home theater. My question now is. Will I see any change in DVD picture quality if I go to say a Panasonic DVD-S77S that is a HD DVD player. I did a little research and found that some of the new HD DVD players have a DCDI chip in them that smooths out stair-step edges. Although I don't think the Panasonic has that chip. So, should I make the jump to a HD-DVD player?
Old 12-04-05, 04:18 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
HD DVD players don't exist yet. What you are referring to are upscaling DVD players. Consensus seems to be that if you have a digital Tv with a DVI/HMDI port, then you should get an upsampling DVD player. Your plasma is analog.
Old 12-04-05, 05:49 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Originally Posted by gcbrowni
HD DVD players don't exist yet. What you are referring to are upscaling DVD players. Consensus seems to be that if you have a digital Tv with a DVI/HMDI port, then you should get an upsampling DVD player. Your plasma is analog.
Highgear's plasma is an HD set with a native resolution of 1024x768. An upscaling DVD player that can output 720p would likely make a very noticable difference. Check out the Oppo or the Denon 1920, to name a couple.

Edit: just checked the specs - the Panasonic TH-42PX5OU can accept 720p via the hdmi input. Definitely check out an upscaling player.