DVD Talk
Ever written to a senator or congressperson? [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Ever written to a senator or congressperson?

Tuan Jim
11-18-05, 07:32 PM
Just curious? I'm thinking about writing to mine re: possible GI Bill changes but I've never done it before. Is it generally alright to write to both senators and all the congresspeople in the state or would you just send to the ones covering your district?

I figure hard copy is probably preferred over email (all the moreso since it'd be coming from Iraq).

thanks.

dtcarson
11-18-05, 07:38 PM
Hardcopy generally gets more respect.
I've written to my congresscritter [the one I voted against/didn't vote for] and asked him to support a certain bill. He basically responded saying 'no' even though his facts/'reasoning' were wrong. But he did respond, via snail mail.
You'll probably get a better response if you're in his district, but if you have the postage to spare, send it to everybody.

Tuan Jim
11-18-05, 07:43 PM
Cool. Snail mail from here is free. I just drop it in the box on the way to the mess hall.

dtcarson
11-18-05, 07:45 PM
Hardly free, I'm paying for that postage!

kidding--it's the least I can do : )

Definitely appreciate your service.

BKenn01
11-18-05, 09:15 PM
Doesnt do much good as I see it. The morons that matter usually represent other states and they wont even respond. You might get a response, if they agree with you.

Red Dog
11-19-05, 08:49 AM
Yes, and it does no good. One, you're lucky if you get a response. Two, if you do get a response, you may not even get the right canned topical response. :lol:

I've written letters to my state rep, Congressman, and US Senators before. Surprisingly, the state rep and Congressman never responded while the Senators did (although one of them sent a reply letter on the wrong topic). I would have thought it would be the opposite way around.

classicman2
11-19-05, 08:59 AM