Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Sub $1000 widescreen tv?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Sub $1000 widescreen tv?

Old 08-09-05, 01:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sub $1000 widescreen tv?

I'm looking to replace my 19" trinitron I bought back when I was a dorm-room living college student. Being an avid movie watcher, I'd like to view anamorphic stuff and was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for widescreen televisions costing under a grand. I'm basically looking for the biggest I can get for the price.
Old 08-09-05, 02:06 AM

circuit city has a Sony 46in widescreen HDTV on sale this week for 1099. two of my buddies each bought one when it was on sale for 999 a few weeks ago. Great tv for the price, normally it is 1400. It is a CRT though, so a bit bulky.
Old 08-09-05, 06:55 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts
Are you looking for a flat panel or just the biggest screen money can buy?
Old 08-09-05, 10:13 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

This is what I want, among currently available models:
http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product...rPath=79*3316*
Old 08-09-05, 04:28 PM

Flat panel would be awesome of course, but for under a grand? I was trying to be realistic.
Old 08-09-05, 06:36 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
You can get flat panel for under 1K, but you won't realistically be getting a screen larger than 27" (30" if you find a great deal). If you go rear projection you can probably find yourself in the 42-52 inch area.
Old 08-09-05, 09:47 PM

Rear projection would make the unit too large. I wouldn't minde a 27" flat panel or a 30-34" tube. Any suggestions?
Old 08-10-05, 11:20 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Originally Posted by Phyre
Flat panel would be awesome of course, but for under a grand? I was trying to be realistic.