Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Advice: getting new HD receiver from cable company?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-05, 12:10 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I'm new to the HD scene (relatively, last december) and I just found out that my provider (TW in NYC) has different HD receivers. I thought it would just be with or without HD but no variations between the types. Is there an easy way of finding out what my options are? I have a feeling if I call them up, I'm going to get a clueless operator.

I'm basically looking for a receiver that puts out a 16x9 signal through S-video. I've only had scientific atlanta converters since I moved here.
Old 08-01-05, 12:44 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

You cant get a HD signal in 16x9 through S-video. S-video only passes 480i. For HD you need Component, DVI(or one of the variants), or Firewire.
Old 08-01-05, 02:19 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by cseyer
You cant get a HD signal in 16x9 through S-video. S-video only passes 480i. For HD you need Component, DVI(or one of the variants), or Firewire.
Wrong. It won't be HD but it will be 16x9. SA receivers won't do it over S-video but others will. In order to record 16x9 on my DVD recorder I need to get one of those.
Old 08-01-05, 03:18 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Only easy way to find out is somebody who KNOWS about your locality specifically. If you know somebody, good. Otherwise, CSR roulette. And it will be changing all the time anyway. TWC and Comcast are now merging.

I'd recommend a DVR, but I know little else for your situation.
Old 08-01-05, 03:52 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by Spiky
Only easy way to find out is somebody who KNOWS about your locality specifically. If you know somebody, good. Otherwise, CSR roulette. And it will be changing all the time anyway. TWC and Comcast are now merging.