Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

School me about speaker wattage

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-05, 11:23 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If my receiver (2 Channel) specs are:

Continuous Average Power (FTC) Per Channel :
120 Watts per channel, 20Hz – 20kHz @ <0.07% THD, both channels driven into 8 ohms
150 Watts per channel, 20Hz – 20kHz @ <0.2% THD, both channels driven into 4 ohms

the two models of speakers that I am interested in have wattage max of:

model 1: 200 watts per channel max
model 2: 250 watts per channel max

Will there be a different in the performance of these speakers driven by this receiver?

In general, is there a rule of thumb of matching of receiver watts per channel to speaker max watts?
Old 06-21-05, 11:40 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I am not an expert so maybe someone else can fill in the spots I'm not clear on.

If the speakers were exactly identical and one handled 200W max and the other handled 250W max I seriously doubt you would notice any difference. Now, I *think* there can be some danger in underdriving a speaker, but if you're putting out 120W you have nothing to worry about. At 40W/channel I might look for a speaker with a lower max, but again I may be off base. Of course there's almost no way those speakers are identical at all, so yes you will notice a difference in performance. What you need to look for is the efficiency of the speaker. This is measured in dB/W/m, or decibals with one watt of power at a distance of 1 meter. An averagely efficient speaker will be around 90dB. Below 84dB and you might have to crank the volume to get the sound where you want it... above 96dB and your speakers are loud.