Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Toshiba 46H84 opinions? (or HDTV advice)

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-05, 10:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1076628744709
This Toshiba 46" rear-projection HDTV is on sale this week at Best Buy for only about $1K (that's $400 off!) and it includes a free Toshiba SD-5980 HDMI DVD player. I've been looking to get a decent inexpensive HDTV hopefully by the end of the year, although there's no rush. I'm basically a newbie when it comes to knowing what features are important in an HDTV, but I want it to be good for at least a few years. Here are the main things I'm planning to hook up to it:
-DVD and eventually HD-DVD/Blu-ray
-PS2, and eventually PS3 or other next-gen console
-over the air SD and HD programming, maybe eventually cable/satellite

Any comments on this TV or suggestions for a better one in the approximate price range or should I even just wait a little while for new models or price drops?

Also, I'm a little confused about 720p and 1080i. Does an individual TV only truly support one or the other and is it better to have native support for one over the other? I also read somewhere that 1080p sets will be coming out, but I don't know when and how expensive they'll be.

Any thoughts sure are appreciated.
Old 06-09-05, 10:31 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Support = the TV can receive (input) the signal.
Native = the TV can OUTPUT the signal.