Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

GBASP/Gameboy player aspect ratios help

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-04, 08:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GBASP/Gameboy player aspect ratios help

Greetings!
Please help out an old school gamer,who is a complete noob to the "next Gen." consoles and games.
I love the simple games from the NES days (Donkey Kong/Castlevania/Excitebike/Dr.Mario) Etc...etc.

I see these,and others are now being released for the GBASP under the "classic nes series"

I'm interested in these,as well as a gbasp(for work/travel)/gameboy player &
Gcube to play these at home.

My Questions are-
I understand the gbasp is a widescreen device,also-the newer games made for it,take advantage of this format-No problem here!
but what happens to the games mentioned?(not originally widescreen)
are they stretched out-left to right? and squished from top to bottom?
Do they look silly/strange on the gbasp screen?

And how about the gameboy player on a regular 4:3 screen?
What happens to Newer games for the gba that are widescreen and the older games that are not? are there settings etc to compensate for the differences?

The main reason for me to buy a GC would be for the gameboy player(not really interested in newer gc games,except for the retro arcade compilations and such) Too many buttons/complicated,not much fun,as I have to keep looking down at the controller to see buttons

One more ? is-
If I was lucky enough to get a GC with the component connections,OR even if I didn't,and hooked it up with an S video/audio cable as opposed to the composite that comes with it--would the games thru the gameboy player
benefit from the better connection or would only the gcube games themselves benefit?

About the only thing I'm sure about is a Wavebird

Thanx for all your help,It is appreciated!

CHEERS! jefff
Old 12-15-04, 09:02 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post