Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Looking for answers and comments about sound and visual

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-04, 06:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi ! I am a rookie who just start collecting DVD titiles. Questions start coming up in my mind once I know more about DVD technology and I am not if anyone has done this sort of comparison or not but I just post out anyway.

As far as I know, DTS offers higher data rates than Dolby Digital and hence should deliver better performance theoratically. Therefore I always choose DTS titles if available.

However, I am confused for the visual part. It seems PAL is generally better than NTSC even though NTSC performs better than PAL in some way (?). I wonder if the difference between these two is more or less sensible than the difference between DTS and Dolby Digital. Will the difference between PAL and NTSC get more significant if both under progressive scan ?

By the way, is a feature called superbit really improves the quality whether in PAL or NTSC ? Can it enhance the performance even if the movie is already under progressive scan ? The reason I ask is because it is much harder to get a superbit DVD in PAL than in NTSC and if it will not improve much then I only need to get a DVD player with progressive scan function and worry about superbit no more. Oh and I almost forget - is prgressive really that amazing ?

I found it much harder to analyze and understand the visual part than the sound part because the concepts and formats are much more and complex.

Although it only seems to be a decision making between sound and visual, the questions above really affect which region of titles I am going after since some DVDs has DTS only in region 1. Please remeber to mention the equipments which make you think one is better than the other.