DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Subwoofer problem?

Old 07-27-04, 09:56 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Subwoofer problem?

Lately I have noticed a low hum coming from my subwoofer. Normally, it's fairly low, as its only noticable when nothing in the room is on and even then it's pretty faint. I've had the subwoofer for around 4 years, so I'm wondering if I just noticed this or if its been going on for some time. Any how, I could live with it. Until last night. Watching a movie, the sub made a weird noise and an extremely loud continuous hum was coming from the sub. It stopped after a minute or two, but has come back tonight and won't stop. I've disconnected the sub from any other components, so it's defintely something with the sub and not any cable. Basic question is, what the hell happened? Is the sub dead now, and what are my options? I'm basically a novice on the technical aspect of these things, so any suggestions are appreciated. I've obviously love to avoid paying for a new sub, but I'd obviously like to get it fixed. Thanks in advance.
Old 07-28-04, 03:07 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
If nothing is damaged it sounds like a ground loop problem.

http://www.epanorama.net/documents/g...oop/index.html

While ground loop is the primary cause of unwanted "injected" power-line noise, there are other noise sources that need to be mentioned.

Light Dimmers. Your innocent triac-based lamp dimmer is a major source of unwanted power-line noise. With dimmers, the noise is injected directly on the Neutral return (white wire) as well as radiating said noise. There is only one practical way to eliminate this noise source: Removal of all dimmers from your home's wiring.