Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Bad peaking

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-04, 09:23 AM
DVD Talk Reviewer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Bad peaking

Just curious since I'm still pretty new to all of this home theater stuff. I notice sometimes there's some bad peaking on the center channel with certain 'spoken' audio. And it's usually still apparant on some stuff even when I turn the volume down a bit. I can live with it, that's fine, because it doesn't do it for everything. My system can be pretty loud, and I can listen to some things without any problem, at any volume I want. But certain things just seem to have that certain 'hiss' or whatever you want to call it during some vocal audio. Anybody got any ideas if it's just because of the system of if it's the DVD's or what? I got a panasonic sc-ht920.
Old 06-09-04, 03:17 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
I notice sometimes there's some bad peaking on the center channel with certain 'spoken' audio. And it's usually still apparant on some stuff even when I turn the volume down a bit. I can live with it, that's fine, because it doesn't do it for everything. My system can be pretty loud, and I can listen to some things without any problem, at any volume I want. But certain things just seem to have that certain 'hiss' or whatever you want to call it during some vocal audio.
Well this is the reality of a home theater in a box.

In fact you may be able to listen "at any volume I want" but the amplifier and the speakers are not capable of delivering what you want. The hiss is system noise and the "peaking" might be clipping. If you are clipping the amp you are slowly burning out the center channel and possibly the fronts as well.
Old 06-09-04, 03:37 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer