Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > TV Talk
Reload this Page >

Finally got TIVO. Questions, Tips from people who have them?

Community
Search
TV Talk Talk about Shows on TV

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-03, 11:09 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Okay, here are my first impressions after 3 days with my Tivo. I need some help from experienced Tivo'ers.

I dont' have DirectTV, so this is just standard Tivo.

Positive:
Obviously it's sweet that there's always something on that I WANT to watch. Plus I can pause a show and come back. After all, that's why we buy these things, right?

This is actually a lot of positives rolled into one, so don't mistake the list below as complaining... I love the service, just have some questions since I'm a newbie.

Negative: (not really faults in the player, just things I misunderstood beforehand)

1) I bought the player with "80 hours", thinking that would be way more than enough. It probably is. But the only thing that bugs me is that it's 80 hours on the lowest quality setting which is crap. I'm watching on a little 21 inch TV and it still looks bad. I have to record at a higher setting but not sure which one yet. I still think I'll have plenty of space, so it doesn't bother me too much but I'm glad I didn't get the 40 hour player.

2) I was led to believe by a friend that the tivo could record shows without the commercials. What's more, if you were watching recorded "live" tv after pausing for a bit, you could just skip the commercials as you watched.
From what I see, what you really need to do is fast-forward through the commercials. This is fine and still very cool, but not quite the same as a "skip" button like skipping a chapter on a dvd. I can see how the tivo may not be able to tell where commercials start and stop.

Questions:
1) What do you do when you are away from your tivo?