Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

How do you guys handle buying a game when you own multiple consoles?

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-03, 09:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Here's my dilemma...I have a PS2 and an XBOX. I want to buy a bunch of games...a sampling below:

1. FIFA 2004
2. ThuG
3. True Crime
4. Tiger Woods 2004 (This was actually reviewed at IGN)

These games are all available on multiple platforms and I can't decide which version to get. I got a subscription to IGN but they do that head to head thing so infrequently that it's useless. I though about renting the game for each platform but that would cost so much that it's not feasible. So my question is...how do you guys with multple consoles decide which system to buy the game on? Is there a review site I'm missing? Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 09:11 PM

I'm in the same boat-- hey stay on your side!

Here's what I'd do/did

FiFA 2004, THUG, Tiger Woods: Go for the PS2 version because they support online only on the PS2.

TC: Not sure about this one yet...IGN will probably do a head to head if you can wait, if not I'd go for the Xbox version. The visuals are ussally better. The sound is usually 5.1. And you can save to the HD so no wasted memory cards.
Old 11-02-03, 09:14 PM
Retired

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just decide from game to game.

For games that use the shoulder buttons a lot (a good example is LOTR:TTT and the upcoming ROTK) I'll go with the PS2. The shoulder buttons on the Dual shock are much better IMO than the other two systems as they analog triggers on the others tire your fingers out in games where you're constantly using them, not to mention the PS2's are much more responsive as you can just tap them.

Sports games usually go to the X-box for the HD as seasons and franchises eat up memory cards fast.