Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

The Official Knights of the Old Republic "Help!" Thread: Warning Spoilers Ahead!!!

Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

The Official Knights of the Old Republic "Help!" Thread: Warning Spoilers Ahead!!!

Old 07-18-03, 10:28 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1,058 Likes on 641 Posts

Starting this thread so we can openly discuss problems, questions, concerns, etc. on this game. I am new to RPGs so I know I will be coming up with lots of questions. I received help in the other thread but I know I will be back!

Some simple questions for you veterans: Do you use the manual level up or the automatic? Any advantage to either? Do you start spening credits on everything or are you a miser & only buy stuff when you know you need it?

When a weapon as a number beside it (like a 3 next to a Blaster) doesn't that mean it causes more damage? The points system drives me a little nuts but I am really new to RPGs. I tried Morrowind but it was way over my head. I am enjoying KOTOR so far but I still feel like I am not entirely sure what is going on (especially in a battle). Is ther a way to know you can beat someone before you challeng them? Thanks.
Old 07-18-03, 10:40 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I believe the number next to the blaster that you are referring to is the amount of that item that you have in your inventory.

I think for now you could do the auto level-ups until you know what you're doing. It shouldn't hurt anything. Doing everything manually gives you more control of how your character develops which is usually better, but it could end up giving you a headache especially if you put your points into something you don't use.

Last edited by karnblack; 07-18-03 at 10:46 AM.
Old 07-18-03, 10:43 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 183 Likes on 125 Posts