Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

xbox component cables

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-03, 05:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
xbox component cables

I am using the component cables that came with the high definition a/v pack for xbox. Does anyone know if using different cables (such as monster) have any effect on picture quality? I think it looks great now but would different cables improve the picture at all. I just want the best picture possible.
thanks in advance.
Old 05-29-03, 05:58 PM

Supposedly, the Monster cables are much better. But I think a lot of it has to depend on your TV too.
Old 05-29-03, 06:03 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post
Monster is overpriced - I'm no expert, but I've had many conversations about this subject with experts and that's the general consensus... Monster makes good cables, but so do other companies and they don't charge as much.
Old 05-29-03, 08:42 PM
Suspended Pending Vaild Email

usually what I do when it comes to cables, is if i wanted higher quality cables, i usually get acoustic research. Really good cables for 1/4th what monster charges. depending on the tv, anything over acoustic research is just wasting your money
Old 05-29-03, 10:25 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Here are the basic options for xbox component cables, #1 being the best picture quality, and #3 being the worst:
1.) Monster-brand Xbox component cables
2.) MS Xbox HD pack with better cables
3.) MS Xbox HD pack with included cables

The MS Xbox HD pack consists of a little box that is unshielded and can allow interference to mess with the signals. Also, the included cables are minimally shielded (if at all).

If you replace the included cables with better quality cables that are shielded (Acoustic Research is a decent brand), then you eliminate some of that interference. The Monster Xbox cables eliminate the adaptor-box-thing entirely and thus leave the least room for interference.