Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Criteria(s) for buying DVDs outside of US??

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Old 10-12-02, 01:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've seen numerous deals posted here that requires me to buy out of the US. I have a few question on how it works...

My bank sent me a memo saying that if I buy anything out of the US, I'll be charged extra, a $30 dollar extra for conversion. So what happens if I went to Amazon.ca (or anywhere else that plays R1 DVDs) and buy, like say, The Sopranos? Do I have to get the Amazon card to shop? Do I have to manually convert the money? What do I need to do to get started and complete a sale?

BTW, I'm a newbie when it comes to out of country stuff. Sadly, I haven't step foot out to another state except for OR, NV, and AZ (I'm in CA), so thanks for all the help!
Old 10-12-02, 02:03 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Re: Criteria(s) for buying DVDs outside of US??

Originally posted by mrkent
I've seen numerous deals posted here that requires me to buy out of the US. I have a few question on how it works...

My bank sent me a memo saying that if I buy anything out of the US, I'll be charged extra, a $30 dollar extra for conversion. So what happens if I went to Amazon.ca (or anywhere else that plays R1 DVDs) and buy, like say, The Sopranos? Do I have to get the Amazon card to shop? Do I have to manually convert the money? What do I need to do to get started and complete a sale?

BTW, I'm a newbie when it comes to out of country stuff. Sadly, I haven't step foot out to another state except for OR, NV, and AZ (I'm in CA), so thanks for all the help!
You need to find a new credit card provider then. At most you should be charged 2% to 3% for currency conversion if any at all.
Old 10-12-02, 02:22 AM

Re: Criteria(s) for buying DVDs outside of US??

Originally posted by mrkent