Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Please Help me decide on a new 27" TV

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-02, 12:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would like to upgrade from my existing 19" RCA. I'm looking at a couple of diffrent models of televisions to buy. I'm not an expert and i would appriciate some opinions. I thought i would check with you guys since most of you are well versed in the Home Theater arts

Tv will be used for

1. DVD movies
2. Tv watching
3. PS2 gaming

specs i'm looking for

27" (32" would be too big for my room)
s-vid or comp. inputs
good picture
reliable (would like it to last for many years to come)
price around $300 to $500

tv's i was looking at

Philips 27PS55S - around $300, picture looks good.

Philips 27RF50S - around $500, flat screen, even better looking picture

Sony WEGA 27" - around $600, flat screen, 16:9 mode

How are these choices ?

Where can i find reviews ?

Is the flat screen Philips worth the extra $ ?
Is the Sony Wega 16:9 mode worth the extra $

any other tv's that i should check out ?

What do you guys think ?

thanks for all the help.
Old 06-30-02, 01:25 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

I am not too hip with all the crazy new TVs available, but I do have a 27" VVega, and let me tell you, I'm crazy about it. Especially the 16x9 mode. It does actually make a difference. Not huge, but very cool nonetheless. Plus, if it's something you really want, then the $100 difference between the better Philips and the Sony is definitely worth it.

You may want to check out the avs forum (www.avsforum.com) for some info. Although they're skewed mostly to the higher end stuff I believe.

Good luck with your new TV, whichever it may be!
Old 06-30-02, 06:22 PM

jiggyblau, thanks for the info.

I'm kinda leaning towards the sony now. What kind of difference does the 16:9 mode make ? better resolution ?