Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Which TV to choose, Sony WEGA or a rear projection widescreen?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 03-09-02, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What do you guys think is the better value? The rear projection is HDTV(looking at the Sony KP43HT20 for 1999, or the Toshiba 42H81 for 2199) and I have digital cable. The Wega is also 2199 and is the KV36HS20. As you guys could probably tell from my questions I am trying to do a lot of research as I am very new to all of this and have already learned a lot of stuff. Any suggestions?
Old 03-09-02, 10:08 PM
Banned

If you are looking at Projection TVs, look at Mitsubishi, they make some great TVs.
Old 03-09-02, 10:58 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Re: Which TV to choose, Sony WEGA or a rear projection widescreen?

Originally posted by Homer J Simpson
What do you guys think is the better value? The rear projection is HDTV(looking at the Sony KP43HT20 for 1999, or the Toshiba 42H81 for 2199) and I have digital cable. The Wega is also 2199 and is the KV36HS20. As you guys could probably tell from my questions I am trying to do a lot of research as I am very new to all of this and have already learned a lot of stuff. Any suggestions?
Of the three TV's you mention the Toshiba would be by far the best choice for picture quality plus it's 16x9 and HD capable! Sony are NOT very good at projection TV's but are VERY good at tube TV's. If you will be watching mostly 4x3 content then you probably want to get a 4x3 TV. If you watch at least 50% 16x9 (DVD & High Def) then get a 16x9 TV. The future is 16x9 so also think about that as well.
Old 03-09-02, 11:48 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 10 Likes on 1 Post
I have a mitsu 50 inch rear projection TV, and I rarely watch it (it's in my front room).

Granted it's 5 years old or so, but I just love my VVegas.