Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

sega game gear/nomad question

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-02, 06:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sega game gear/nomad question

Does anyone have a game gear or nomad? I am thinking about picking one up and would like some opinions. Also, how hard is it to get game gear games and what is a fair price for each handheld? Thanks.
Old 01-31-02, 06:50 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

The nomad is far superior to the Game Gear. It is (as I'm sure you know) a handheld Genesis. It typically sells for $100+ on ebay. These units are almost impossible to find at any store....even used game stores.

The Game Gear system can be had for about $20 at Toys R Us. It comes with just the unit and thats it. Game Gear games can be found new at most Toys R Us locations as well as at Amazon.com. Game Gear games are also easily found at used game stores.

On a side note, I have a Game Gear with the Master system adapter (so you can play Master system games), an AC adapter, 5 Game Gear Games, and 7 Master system games. I also have the Game Gear box. I was going to e-bay it all, but if you are interested I could sell or trade them to you. Email me or post if you are interested.
Old 01-31-02, 07:30 PM

Hey Absolute Zero, isn't that the Game Gear I traded to you in exchange for some other stuff a few months back!? I guess you got bored with it like I did! Ha ha! Don't worry descartes, I can vouch for the quality of Absolute Zero's Game Gear package... everything's in great shape (well, at least it was when I gave it to him!)

Seriously, though, I really enjoyed my Game Gear. My only problem is that I never bothered to get a lot of games that really interested me, so most of the time my system just went unused.

And yes, games are easily available. I was actually surprised last time I was in Toys R Us to see that they still have a Game Gear section!