Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Is "The Bends" Radiohead's best album?

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Old 01-28-02, 08:11 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK, so I'm a little late. I've been listening to Radiohead for a few years and just now got The Bends as a gift.

And you know, despite my undying love for Kid A (and to a slightly lesser extent, the others) this album really impresses the hell out of me.

Just because it was from an earlier phase in their musical development, is no excuse to put it down.

Do you still think this is the best thing they ever did?
Old 01-28-02, 08:18 PM

That all depends on in which way you mean best. Of course, I am a bit biased as my user name comes from that album(FANBOY!), but I think it is the most listenable album, purely in terms of listenability-in a noncritical sense. Is it their most sophisticated album? No. Is it the most enjoyable to listen to? IMO very much so, with OK Computer a close second (I like every song on The Bends, whereas a few on OK Computer I could live without). The amazing thing about Radiohead for me is that you can see their progression as a band- album by album.
Old 01-28-02, 09:37 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Definitely their best.
Old 01-28-02, 09:50 PM
Banned

Originally posted by raithen
Definitely their best.
...album before OK Computer! The Bends is an album with great songs and OK Computer is a great album. The individual songs on the Bends are better than OK Computer, but OK Computer is better as a whole album.
Old 01-28-02, 09:55 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post