Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

DVD Talk review of 'Route 66: Season Three, Volume One'

DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Old 07-21-09, 11:10 AM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I read Paul Mavis's DVD review of Route 66: Season Three, Volume One at http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/read.php?ID=37958 and to answer your question about Karloff.. yes, this was the last time he wore the Frankenstein monster make-up. There is a picture of the Route 66 make-up man using a picture of Karloff from "Son of Frankenstein" as a guide to how the monster should look!
Old 07-21-09, 11:15 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Re: DVD Talk review of 'Route 66: Season Three, Volume One'

Thanks for the info! I'm not an expert on Karloff, but I knew that had to be a special moment. Add to that Lorre and Chaney (in both Mummy and Wolfman makeup), and that's a hell of an important episode for classic monster lovers.
Old 07-21-09, 01:34 PM

Last year, there was an issue (#142) of Video Watchdog that published a set of color behind-the-scene photos from that episode.
Old 08-17-09, 12:42 AM

An excellent, excellent review of route 66, season 3, vol. 1. This series was unarguably the best written series ever to be broadcast on television. I'm old enough to have seen the show when it originally aired on CBS and have been collecting the DVD's (as painfully slow as they are being released).