Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

New TV and Receiver purchase...help needed

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 12-17-07, 12:04 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Location: Northern New Jersey...or as we say it "Sopranos Country USA"
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone. I am new to this section of DVDTalk so bear with me if this has been asked a thousand times already.

I am in the market for a new TV and receiver for my home theater. I had purchased a 720p plasma a few years back and decided to give it to my parents who were in need of a TV. I also gave them the receiver so they can have the benefits of HDTV.

Well, after some improvements (which included a lot of new dry wall), I am getting ready to buy the new equipment. But I am totally clueless on what to buy at this point.

Here are some facts to help with recommendations:

TV Size - 42" and up is fine
1080p a must (Want to get those Hi-def DVD players)
More than 2 HDMI inputs
CableCard optional

And for the receiver:

7.1 surround (I have 7 speakers)
HDMI switching
XM Radio (I would like this, but not required)

Lastly, I might be able to do a projector, since I have room for it. But again I am clueless on what to look for. My price range is around $3500 max. So if anyone can assist me, it would be appreciated.
Old 12-17-07, 03:45 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

even though you said 1080p is a must, I will try and assist you, nice i am also from North Jersey (and REALLY in Soprano Country - Essex County).

how far are you sitting from your TV?

How large is the room?

Why do you need more than 2 HDMI inputs if your receiver has HDMI switching? You only need 1.

What speakers are you using?

Sub?
Old 12-17-07, 08:15 PM

Nice Morris County in the house here....to answer:

1. it is about 6 feet away

2. Not sure on the exact dimensions, but would say 12 X 12