Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

What's The Big Deal With Criterions? (merged)

DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Old 06-01-05, 01:47 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm sure I'm gonna get flamed for this but I've always wanted to ask this question. I can't really get into the whole hype with purchasing criterions. I know they're suppose to be "cinematic landmark achievements boasting superious acting or something etc etc" but I honestly still can't see it. Is it b/c I'm a newb and don't really appreicate the intricacies of a finely made movie? I've seen only a handful like 7 samurai, the rock, armageddon, and that real mainstream one with gwyneth paltrow, ben stiller, morticia chick, the danny glover, (actually isn't that group in a handful of the real mainstream titles?, the title is escaping me but I think you all know which one I'm talking abotu). It's not to say I DON"T like them but the prices seem kinda outrageous and they dont' seem that much better in audio, visual or extra quality than say any other regular 2 disc dvd title like Stand By Me CE or The Fifth Element Ultimate etc etc. Someone tell me why I should look more closely at them after they down a bottle of pepto or eat a roll of tums, cuz I'm sure I'm spouting blasphemy....:cracker:
Old 06-01-05, 01:56 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A) I've been here for a few months, but I'm certain this has been discussed many times.
B) They put a lot of work into their releases, from transfers to extras and so forth.
C) They're the reason we get many classic and foreign titles that wouldn't otherwise get R1 DVD releases. Armageddon, The Rock, and so forth...those titles are there to pay the bills.
D) The Royal Tenenbaums, and I don't know that I'd call it "real mainstream," but that's just me.
E) Superious isn't a word.