Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

How Do People Get Subway/Bus Station Posters...

Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Old 08-02-03, 02:16 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I'm just curious...do you think you have to work for the subway/bus station, or do you think you can just go up to an employee and ask if you can have the poster once they are ready to change them up and bring in a new one?

I know they are HUGE, but some are nice and are different from the original movie poster.
Old 08-02-03, 02:54 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I work as a location scout in NYC, so by chance I was in the Railyard near Coney Island(the main yard for subways). Anyway, walking by a garbage can, they were just throwing out most of these posters. Now, for the average poster, who cares about a Pepsi ad, or something for Lasik surgery or a bilingual school. But I did nab a whole mess of Soprano's stuff that is actually quite a bit nicer than anything they offer for sale commercially. This doesn't help you as to where to get the stuff, but it should confirm that this is considered trash by and large and shouldn't be that hard to obtain.
Old 08-02-03, 03:50 AM
DVD Talk Godfather

Location: City of the lakers.. riots.. and drug dealing cops.. los(t) Angel(e)s. ca.
You can simply ask the marketing departments that put up the posters if the company wants them back or not. Typically this stuff is just considered trash to them and once it's time is up, they just toss them. Dumpster Diving time?