Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Kairo and Uzumaki(Region 0 dvds)

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Old 04-07-03, 09:29 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I was wondering about the dvd releases of these two flicks. I've seen a couple region 0 copies of these and were wondering if they were actual releases of these(or official or whatever the word is that i'm searching for). I know there were quite a few region 0 copies of the Ring films floating around(before dreamworks released it) and I read on here that there was no NTSC region 0 released, and that those that are out there are boots. I'm not new to this board or anything but i am new to purchasing foreign titles over the internet. The only one i own is the Ring O, which if i'm not mistaken is a bootleg, i think. Which i did not know when i purchased it, so that is why i'm asking the question now. Please excuse any ingnorance from this post.
Old 04-07-03, 12:44 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well, the copies of those 2 films that I have are Region 3 discs, sometimes alot of Official Region 3 discs are in fact Region-less and will play in any player but they are labelled Region 3 and these 2 are real Region 3 discs so anything labelled otherwise are probably bootlegs.
Old 04-07-03, 03:17 PM

Not sure about UZUMAKI, but any Region 0 release of KAIRO is a bootleg. There is a R2 NTSC disc from Japan and R3 NTSC disc from HK. The far cheaper R3 disc is the better option, unless you really want the untranslated extras on the Japanese disc. You can get the HK disc for around $6 online.

As for UZUMAKI, there is a U.S. release coming from Viz Entertainment sometime this year, and they're promising many extras, so I wouldn't bother with bootlegs at this point.
Old 04-09-03, 10:05 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
thank you very much for the info.