Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Rear speakers are not as loud as the front, center and sub on the Sony STRDH820 HELP

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Rear speakers are not as loud as the front, center and sub on the Sony STRDH820 HELP

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-12, 08:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys.

I am new to this home theater stuff and recently just picked up a
Samsung 55'' LED TV along with a blu-ray player, Sony STRDH820 and 4 polk audio speakers, along with a poineer center piece and a polk audio subwoofer.

I've watched at least 4 movies on the TV already and the sound quality is fantastic! The only thing is it seems like the rear speakers don't play dialog and only the center and the fronts do? The rear speakers to me only play the background sounds like birds chriping, dinosaurs screaming, and such depending upon which movie I watch. Is there a way to get the rear speakers to come out with the same volume or is that just the way it is? When I play a video game on xbox live and everything the speaker volume all around me is the same as well as when i watch netflix or cable.

Here are my configured settings so far for my Sony STRDH820:

Surround sound: HD-D.C.S.
Effect level for HD-D.C.S. is set to Dynamic

That's pretty much it. My Blu-ray player is set about the same.

Is there any chance anyone with the same audio reciever can help me get the maximum home theater experience?
Old 03-02-12, 12:09 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Rear speakers are not as loud as the front, center and sub on the Sony STRDH820 H

That's exactly the way surround sound i supposed to work. Most of the dialog is in the front center, with music and sounds that you would hear coming from in front of you coming from the front speakers, with some ambient noises coming from behind.