View Single Post
Old 10-02-11, 12:52 AM   #134
jacob_b
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Re: The 7th Annual "October Horror Movie Challenge" (10/1 - 10/31) ***The List Thread

This is my first time I am doing this. Not going to do the theme or subset this year. Just going to try to nail 100 films. I'll post what I watch with my thoughts and just go from there.

October 1st

1. Silence of the Lambs
Started off the month with a bang. For some reason, I've never seen this movie from beginning to end. It's hard to see classics knowing what is out there now and my taste different (love jumps, more blood, more screams). For when it was made, it was pretty good. Nothing out there, though, or even jumpy. Good story, but not really horror. A more extreme Law and Order episode, if anything. Can't wait to get into the sequel.

2. Man Hunter
The prequel to Silence of the Lambs. Interesting. Better than what I expected, but dragged quite a few times. Again, not really horror for me, but loved the parts with the Tooth Fairy. Best parts of the film had him in it. Really good actor. Good to watch, but not something I'd watch again. Must get Red Dragon to see the differences between the two films.

October 2nd

3. The Wrong House
First time viewing. Kind of looks like a Rob Zombie film with the killers. Actually, the male killer looks like Bill Mosley. Camera view is annoying as well as the "victims". Very low budget and kind of a waste of time. I can see why the female killer won the Fright Meter award, whatever that is. But it's just too low budget and too fake for my taste. Why Fatally-Yours named it the Top 10 Best Horror Films of 2010, I don't know. Chalk this up as a one and done film.

4. Hannibal