Release List Reviews Shop Join News DVD Giveaways Video Games Advertise
DVD Reviews | Theatrical Reviews | Adult DVD Reviews | Video Game Reviews | Price Search Buy Stuff Here
DVD Talk
DVD Reviews DVD Talk Headlines HD Reviews

Add to My Yahoo! - RSS 2.0 - RSS 2.0 - DVD Talk Podcast RSS -

Go Back   DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 01-26-03, 12:03 AM   #1
innocentfreak
DVD Talk Special Edition

How does this look for a new P4 system?

My current pc just won't do anymore so I am looking to get a new one and the sooner the better. I doubt I will do the build myself since I have no experience so if I have any volunteers..., but I would rather go custom than store bought.

I already have:
Windows XP Pro
Viewsonic 21 inch P815
1 Liteon 16x DVDrom
1 Liteon 32x12x40 CDRW
1 Maxtor 80gb 7200 ATA133
1 Maxtor 40gb 7200 ATA133
Intellimouse Explorer

Here is what I need:
Case...I am leaning towards the Antec 1080AMG w/power supply
CPU...Intel P4 2.4B has been recommended
RAM...Corsair 3200cl2 and 3500 cl2 both have been recommend
MOBO...Asus P4PE has been recommended to me
AUDIO...not sure which way to go yet
VIDEO...last I read 4200 were a good buy and anything is a step up from what I have now
NIC...not sure
Keyboard...whatever I happen to find I like, no natural style
Money...I would like to spend less than 1000.00

I think that covers everything. I won't be planning any case mods or overclocking just yet. The pc will be gaming and internet and maybe the occasional dvd. Any help is greatly appreciated and again any builders, particularly close to Tampa, interested let me know.
Old 01-26-03, 01:56 AM   #2
Ranger
DVD Talk Legend

No doubt that you can do it for under $1000!