Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

TV has been in repair for 3+ months, I hate Best Buy, need advice please

Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Old 01-19-05, 01:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK, I've been posting about this situation in my blog for a few months now, it's kinda lengthy and drawn out.

Nutshell:
Bought a brand new HDTV.
Best Buy Delivery damaged it upon delivery.
I noticed the damage 2 weeks after the fact (I was hooking up some things).
Best Buy Delivery isn't going to pay for repair.
Best Buy Service plan isn't going to cover it.
It's been in the repair shop for 3+ months because "2nd part is on order".

So there are a few things of course, the main ones being how do I get my TV back? How do I get Best Buy Delivery to pay up? or How do I get Best Buy Warranty to pay up instead?

Here are the relevant posts in complete detail:
Not-Really-The-Best-Buy
Not-Really-The-Best-Buy-II (A.K.A. Da*n Best Buy)
Not-Really-The-Best-Buy-III
Not-Really-The-Best-Buy-IV

The advice from my parents was just to pay up, because Best Buy could really mess up your credit otherwise, that true?

My credit card company can't help me either, details in the posts.

Any advice, legal or otherwise would really help me out, I'm feeling very frustrated and annoyed because I can't do anything about this.
Old 01-19-05, 01:50 PM
Banned

American Express? Try this: https://www124.americanexpress.com/c...protection.jsp

Worth a shot.
Old 01-19-05, 01:54 PM

Originally Posted by Otto
American Express? Try this: https://www124.americanexpress.com/c...protection.jsp

Worth a shot.
Tried it, AMEX said that the TV isn't covered by their Purchase Protection because the damage was done by a third party (this case, BB Delivery) and not me personally. Also, the damage must be reported within 10 days of occuring.
Old 01-19-05, 04:31 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition