Release List Reviews Shop Join News DVD Giveaways Video Games Advertise
DVD Reviews | Theatrical Reviews | Adult DVD Reviews | Video Game Reviews | Price Search Buy Stuff Here
DVD Talk
DVD Reviews DVD Talk Headlines HD Reviews

Add to My Yahoo! - RSS 2.0 - RSS 2.0 - DVD Talk Podcast RSS -

Go Back   DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Sports Talk

Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

Old 07-01-03, 07:52 AM   #1
Tommy_Harn
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Top Ten Ways to spice up Soccer

This might just be the stupidest thing I've ever read. No wonder nobody attached their by-line to take credit for it:

Why not make the ball square while you're at it, moron?
"I have just shot the President. I shot him several times as I wished him to go as easily as possible. His death was a political necessity. I am a lawyer, theologian, and politician. I am going to the jail. Please order out your troops and take possession of the jail at once."

Charles Guiteau, in a letter to General William Sherman in 1881.
Old 07-01-03, 07:57 AM   #2
Groucho

I hope you realize that it was a joke.

"The Borg is a species" -- Tracer Bullet (Citation)
Old 07-01-03, 08:30 AM   #3
dek
DVD Talk Legend

Location: On the road to reclaiming Lord Stanleys Cup, Patterson CA
Mines

"Forsberg plays like Bird -- with no regard for his body, to win and not for money. They're comets that burn so brightly, they tan your face with delight. Then they go away and you feel like crying."
Old 07-01-03, 08:48 AM   #4
Tommy_Harn
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Yeah, I realize that some of the ideas are all in good humor (especially the reader mail) but the whole point of the article is ridiculous. Obviously soccer is a niche sport in this country and will likely never be a top 4 sport and that's fine. But it seems pointless for articles like this, and for guys like Jim Rome to constantly bash the sport. If you don't enjoy it, fine- don't play, don't watch. But let others make up their own mind.