Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

woody allen claims he is a "failed artist"

Community
Search
Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-02, 04:54 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Woody Allen Says Is Failed Artist
Monday October 28 1:20 PM ET

ROME (AP) He's won three Oscars and is considered by many to be one of the best movie directors of our time. But Woody Allen says if he had three words to define himself, "I would say I am a failed artist."

"I am not even an actor," the 66-year-old Allen was quoted as saying by La Repubblica daily and other Italian newspapers over the weekend. "Dustin Hoffman is an actor, Jack Nicholson is an actor, I'm not."

Allen has appeared in many of his own films, including "Annie Hall," "Hannah and Her Sisters," "The Curse of the Jade Scorpion" and "Hollywood Ending."

"If I weren't famous, nobody would come to my concerts," he told the Rome daily Il Messaggero. "I'm less than mediocre with the clarinet."

Allen was in Rome to promote "Hollywood Ending," which was a box-office disappointment in the United States.

He won Oscars for best director and best original screenplay for 1977's "Annie Hall" and for best original screenplay for 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters."
Old 10-28-02, 04:58 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 28 Likes on 9 Posts
You won't get an argument from me.

Last edited by sherm42; 10-28-02 at 06:25 PM.
Old 10-28-02, 05:05 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I could have told him this years ago.
Old 10-28-02, 05:30 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
At least he acknowledges it.
Old 10-28-02, 05:55 PM