Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Archives > Archives > DVD Talk Archive
Reload this Page >

Do you use Excel spreadsheets to organize your DVD collection?

Community
Search

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-04, 09:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If so what are the advantages over DVDAficionado, DVD Profiler or Guzzlefish? Do you use them to keep track of how much you've spent on DVDs or what else do you use them for?
Old 06-01-04, 10:20 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

i used to use excel to catalogue all of my collections. i had a very complex database with just about every concievable piece of information. then my computer crashed. now i use a program called dvdattache that was free and very easy to use. all i do i enter the ISBN number and it searches the net to find all of the details.
Old 06-01-04, 10:39 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1,410 Likes on 1,033 Posts
I used to Excel, but I was just typing in all the data, I'm not good at programming. Now I've got Aficionado and I'm perfectly satisfied.
Old 06-01-04, 10:44 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1,301 Likes on 945 Posts
Re: Do you use Excel spreadsheets to organize your DVD collection?

Originally posted by OREOSpeedwagon
If so what are the advantages over DVDAficionado, DVD Profiler or Guzzlefish? Do you use them to keep track of how much you've spent on DVDs or what else do you use them for?
It's tough for friends and family to check out my collection with an Excel spreadsheet locally on my PC.

I used to keep track of all the DVD info on a spreadsheet but the online collection sites make it so much easier. Plus, for Profiler, you can download reports to print out hardcopies, if needed.
Old 06-01-04, 10:55 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
I'm considering using Access to do it, but it will take a while.
Old 06-01-04, 10:56 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition